Nicholas Le Poidevin QC is a barrister at New Square Chambers, where he specialises in trusts and estate work. He is an editor of Lewin on Trusts and is currently producing an edition of John Bryt’s early fifteenth century reports for the Selden Society.

Vice President

Professor Paul Brand FBA is Emeritus Fellow of All Souls College, Oxford, where he was Senior Research Fellow from 1999 to 2014. He has written extensively on English medieval legal history and is the editor of four Selden Society volumes.

Literary Director

Dr Neil Jones is Reader in English Legal History at the University of Cambridge, and is Fellow and Director of Studies in Law at Magdalene College. He has written widely on the history of the law of trusts and was the recipient of the Selden Society’s David Yale Prize in 2003.


Professor Michael Lobban FBA is Professor of Legal History at the London School of Economics and Political Science. He has written widely on the history of English legal thought and legal practice in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.


Mr Alexander McKinnon is the Aviation Regulatory and Litigation Lawyer at British Airways. He is a graduate of Magdalene College, Cambridge (LLM) and the University of Queensland, Australia (BCom, LLB(Hons)). He is admitted to practise in England & Wales (Solicitor Advocate) and Queensland, Australia.

Overseas Honorary Secretaries and Treasurers

Australia: Mr David Bratchford, Supreme Court Library, Brisbane, Queensland.
Canada: Professor Margaret McGlynn, University of Western Ontario.
New Zealand: Professor Warren Swain, Faculty of Law, University of Auckland.
United States: Professor Joshua Tate (Treasurer), Mr Gregory Ivy (Secretary), Southern Methodist University School of Law, Dallas, Texas.

Members of the Council

Mr David Ainger
The Hon. Morris S. Arnold
Mr Richard Bagley
Sir John Baker
Dr Susanne Brand
His Hon. Donald Cryan
Professor W.R. Cornish, Q.C., F.B.A.
Dr David Crook
Dr Sean Cunningham
Professor Charles Donahue, Jr.
Professor George Garnett
Professor Joshua Getzler
Dr Elizabeth Goldring
Professor Richard H. Helmholz, F.B.A.
Mr John Howell, Q.C.
Professor J.G.H. Hudson, F.B.A
Professor D.J. Ibbetson, F.B.A.
The Right Hon. Lord Judge
Mr Nicholas Le Poidevin, QC
The Rev. Professor A.D.E. Lewis
Professor Janet Loengard
Professor Catharine Macmillan
Dr Michael Macnair
Dr John Maddicott, F.B.A.
Professor Wilfrid Prest
Professor Rebecca Probert
Professor Chantal Stebbings
Professor Joshua Tate
Mr A. C. Taussig
Mr P.W.E. Taylor, Q.C.
Mr V. Tunkel
The Rev. Professor T.G. Watkin
Dr Ian Williams
Mr D.E.C. Yale, Q.C., F.B.A.